top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturealicestarr399

Ronaldo speaks on life at Old Trafford

*Steve Davis tries to understand Ronaldo's inclusion in Portugal's World Cup squad


Cristiano Ronaldo has disclosed that he has no respect for Manchester United coach Erik ten Hag and that certain persons in the club's hierarchy are trying to force him to leave the club.


In an interview with Piers Morgan for TalkTV, the Portuguese player said of Ten Hag, "I don’t have respect for him because he doesn’t show respect for me.” 


“If you don’t have respect for me, I’m never gonna have respect for you," Ronaldo told Morgan.


When he was asked if the hierarchy of Man. United was trying to force him to leave the club, Ronaldo said: “Yes, not only the coach [Erik ten Hag, but another two or three guys around the club. I felt betrayed.”



When asked again if senior club executives were trying to oust him, the 37-year-old said: “I don’t care. People should listen to the truth.


“Yes, I felt betrayed and I felt like some people don’t want me here, not only this year but last year too.


Commenting further Ronaldo did not hide his contempt for the turn of events at United since he rejoined the club in August 2021 amid huge fanfare.


“I think the fans should know the truth,” he said. “I want the best for the club. This is why I came to Manchester United.


“Since [former manager] Sir Alex [Ferguson] left, I saw no evolution in the club. Nothing had changed.


“I love Manchester United, I love the fans, they’re always on my side. But if they want to do it differently… they have to change many, many things.”


Ronaldo said he and Ferguson shared similar views of the club. Ferguson, was instrumental in the player's return to Old Trafford from Juventus when it seemed he might join Manchester City.


"He knows better than anybody that the club is not on the path they deserve to be,” added Ronaldo.


“He knows. Everyone knows. The people who don’t see that… it’s because they don’t want to see; they are blind.”


Ronaldo has not played since he captained United in their 3-1 loss at Aston Villa on November 6 due to an unidentified ailment.


Ten Hag dropped Ronaldo for the Premier League game at Chelsea last month after he refused to come on as a substitute against Tottenham three days earlier.


In the first season under manager Ten Hag, United, who defeated Fulham 2-1 on Sunday, are fifth in the Premier League.



On Rangnick, Ronaldo said: “If you’re not even a coach, how are you going to be the boss of Manchester United? I’d never even heard of him.”


When Ronaldo returned to Man Utd, his former team-mate Ole Gunnar Solskjaer was the club manager before he was replaced by Ralf Rangnick and then Ten Hag, the current boss.


On Wayne Rooney's criticisms of him, Ronaldo said, “I don’t know why he criticizes me so badly… probably because he finished his career and I’m still playing at a high level,” said Ronaldo of his former United teammate and ex-England striker.


“I’m not going to say that I’m looking better than him. Which is true…


Both Wayne Rooney and Ronaldo have criticized one another this season.  


Ronaldo also talked to Morgan about the loss of his baby son in April and how he was touched by a tribute paid to him by the Liverpool fans at a game against United at Anfield in the days afterward.


In August, Ronaldo promised that he would give his version of life at Old Trafford after he failed to secure a move away from United to a club playing in the Champions League, as he had hoped.


Why include Ronaldo in the 2022 World Cup Squad- Steve Davis


Interim manager of Wolverhampton Wanderers, Steve Davis has criticized  Portugal for including Cristiano Ronaldo in their 2022 World Cup squad.


According to the squad list released last week by Portugal's coach, Fernando Santos, the 37-year-old Ronaldo is leading the Portugal national team to Qatar.


Davis said he does not understand why Portugal has selected Ronaldo to go at that age leaving out other professionals. 


"Joao Moutinho is very professional, I’m sure he’ll reflect on not being selected and he will be disappointed with Ronaldo going at that age,” Davis told the press.


“The coach has to think about the balance of the squad, it’s important for any coach, so maybe that was part of the decision," he added.


Ronald has not been in the best of form this season. He has scored just three goals and provided two assists in 16 appearances across competitions.



Sports





























4 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page