top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturealicestarr399

I will talk with all agitators, if elected President, Obi says.


Labour Party, presidential candidate,

Peter Obi has reiterated that he will consult and hold talks with all those agitating for various reasons across Nigeria if he is elected president, SaharaReporters reports.


In an interview with Brekete Family Show in Abuja, on Monday, Obi said the agitations all over the country are caused by "injustice, unfairness, marginalization, poverty, call it any name. People are bound to agitate.”


“I said I will consult and discuss with all of them (agitators). A new Nigeria is what I want to build and people will be proud. That’s why I said, I will solve the problems of the north, and southwest. I want Nigerians to move around with their passports proud that they are Nigerians,” Obi said.


Asked if as president, he would push for the Biafran Republic, the former Anambra State governor said the “Biafra war ceased to exist about 52 years ago and it remains so. I am a Nigerian. I am contesting as a Nigerian.


Some groups, chiefly the Indigenous People of Biafra, IPOB have been calling for a referendum to decide the restoration or not of the Biafran Republic which existed separately from Nigeria from 1967 to 1970 and included the former Eastern region of Nigeria.




Politics and Opinion.





















12 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page