top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturealicestarr399

Pope Francis has signed his resignation letter.

Pope Francis


Pope Francis has disclosed that he signed his resignation letter about ten years ago 

and handed it over to the Vatican’s secretary of state, Tarcisio Bertone in 2013 in case he is prevented from doing his duties by poor health.

 

The Pope who was speaking with the Spanish newspaper ABC said: “I have already signed my renunciation. I signed it and said: ‘If I should become impaired for medical reasons or whatever, here is my resignation.”


When asked if he wanted this information revealed to the world, the Pope said: “That’s why I’m telling you. I think that at my age and with this limitation, I have to save myself a little bit to be able to serve the Church. Alternatively, to think about the possibility of stepping aside.”


Pope Francis turned 86 on December 17 and marked his 53rd anniversary as a priest on December 13.


He had in the past said that he would step down from the papacy if health problems keep him from carrying out his duties.




Religion 




 









46 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page